Don’t Wait to Be Happy

Give yourself permission to be joyful now

✨ Bridget Webber
6 min readMay 10, 2021
Groucho Marx

“I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.” Groucho Marx.

Groucho Marx had a point. All you have is this day. You don’t know if you’ll have tomorrow or what the future will bring. But you have a choice about whether you look for happiness in every moment rather than wait.

“I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today.” G M

Are you waiting to be happy? You might have goals, like the aim to lose weight or build your income, and imagine you can’t be happy until you’ve dropped pounds and inches or have a tidy nest egg in your bank account. The only problem is the things you want are external, and your happiness comes from inside you. It’s not based on reaching targets.

You build happiness from the inside out. If you wait for an external goal to come to fruition, you might be in for a nasty surprise. Being super-slim or wealthy won’t necessarily make you happy.

Further, when you depend on external events for joy, you narrow your chance of success. What if the waiter serving your dinner is super-slow? What if the driver in the car in…

--

--

✨ Bridget Webber

Former counselor. Spiritual growth, compassion, mindfulness, creativity, and psychology. Support me at https://ko-fi.com/bridgetwebber